Angie Martinez Leaving HOT97

In a post on Instagram, Angie Martinez announced her resignation from HOT97. Martinez worked for the station for more than two decades and a half.

Today I resigned from HOT97. I am grateful to the Emmis family for my time with the company and the immeasurable way Today I resigned from HOT97. I am grateful to the Emmis family for my time with the company and the immeasurable way that it has shaped my life. We made history together in so many ways and I will cherish those memories and my friendships forever. This was one of the toughest decisions I’ve ever had to make but ultimately it is time to move on, to grow and to be challenged in new ways. Saying goodbye is always emotional and bitter sweet but I am extremely excited about the future. Thank you HOT97 and most importantly….the listeners… for an unimaginable journey. Today will be my last show ❤️ stay tuned….

Love, angie

Outside of radio, Martinez has released two albums in her career; Up Close and Personal (2001) and Animal (2002).

Martinez added:
“It’s sad, but it’s also exciting,” the 41-year-old said during her final show on air on Wednesday afternoon. “There’s been things that I’ve wanted to do for quite some time. I have opportunities that I want to pursue.”

“The Voice of New York” will surely be missed!

Leave a Reply

